The Astor Room was originally built as the commissary to the studio opened by the legendary Adolph Zukor in 1920. The studio soon became home for Paramount Pictures, and during the next 20 years, over 120 silent and sound ﬁlms were produced here. From Rudolph Valentino, Gloria Swanson, the Marx Brothers, the Gish sisters and W.C. Fields, Astoria was home to the great talents of an exciting new industry and the all dined right here, in The Astor Room!
Take a step back in time in our new restaurant, that celebrates the glory of a bygone era in American and cinematic history. The Astor Room is our contemporary interpretation of the American Supper Club where classic dishes, master-crafted cocktails, superb service, warm hospitality and fabulous entertainment combine to offer a truly unique dining experience.
History of Astoria
The area now known as Astoria was originally called Hallet’s Cove, after its first landowner William Hallet, who settled there in 1659 with his wife Elizabeth Fones. Beginning in the early 19th century, affluent New Yorkers constructed large residences around 12th and 14th streets, an area that later became known as Astoria Village (now Old Astoria). Hallet’s Cove, founded in 1839 by fur merchant Steven Halsey, was a noted recreational destination and resort for Manhattan’s wealthy.
The area was renamed after John Jacob Astor, then the wealthiest man in America, with a net worth of over $40 million, in order to persuade him to invest just $2,000 in the neighborhood. He only invested $500, but the name stayed nonetheless, as a bitter battle over naming the village was finally won by Astor’s supporters and friends. From Astor’s summer home in Hell Gate, Manhattan – on what is now East 87th Street near York Avenue – he could see across the East River the new Long Island village named in his honor; however, Astor never actually set foot in Astoria.